Event: National Broadband Strategy Call to Action, December 2

The New America Foundation is hosting an event called the National Broadband Strategy Call to Action on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 from 10:00 to 11:30 am at the Dirksen Senate Office Building, SD-G50, First Street NE and C Street NE, Washington, DC.

Here is a description of the event:

In an unprecedented display of consensus, a broad and diverse array of groups concerned about America’s broadband future will release a Call to Action that provides President-elect Obama and the incoming Congress a policy framework for a comprehensive national broadband strategy. The Coalition includes prominent communications providers, high technology companies, manufacturers, consumers, labor unions, public interest groups, educators, state and local governments, utilities, content creators, foundations, and other stakeholders in America’s broadband future. These organizations believe that such a strategy is critical to America’s economic vitality, educational opportunity, public safety, energy efficiency, environmental stability, global competitiveness, and a continuing high quality of life.

At the event, representatives of these organizations will voice support for the Call to Action, discuss their shared goals, and announce their intent continue to work together to address key issues and policy priorities.


Michael Calabrese
Director, Wireless Future Program
New America Foundation

Introduction of the Call to Action
Jim Baller
Principal, The Baller Herbst Law Group

First Panel
Jim Cicconi
Vice President – Law, AT&T

Larry Cohen
President, Communications Workers of America

Rick Whitt
Washington Telecom and Media Counsel, Google, Inc.

Ben Scott
Director of Policy, Free Press

Kenneth Peres
Economist, Communications Workers of America
President, Alliance for Public Technology

Second Panel
Grant Seiffert
President, Telecommunications Industry Association

Charles Benton
President, The Benton Foundation

Mark Luker
Vice President, EDUCAUSE

Robert Atkinson, Ph.D
President, Information Technology and Innovation Foundation

Libby Beaty
Executive Director, National Association of Telecommunications Officers and Advisors

Diane Duffy
Executive Director, Business Development, Telcordia Technologies, Inc.

To RSVP for this event, go to the event page: